Girls and guests made herstory at the 2010 “Making Herstory” Touchstone Awards presented by the Indianapolis Colts!

Guests traveled through our herstory timeline, learning about women who have made herstory since the early 1900s.  Arriving in 2010, guests were greeted by summer campers who shared their exhibits, including displays of self-defense, breaking gender stereotypes, and college planning.

Following the exhibit reception, guests gathered for lunch and the awards ceremony honoring Myra Borshoff Cook, APR, Dr. Juana O. Watson, Fay H. Williams, and Lieutenant Governor Becky Skillman.  Former Touchstone Award honoree Carolene Mays chaired the event.  

A special thank you to our “Making Herstory” Susan B. Anthony Title Sponsor, The Indianapolis Colts, as well as our other generous leading sponsors who made the event possible: Lilly Endowment, Inc., Citizens Energy Group, Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation, Kroger, Lumina Foundation for Education, Marion County Health Department, State Farm Insurance, and The National Bank of Indianapolis.  With the help of our sponsors and generous guests, Girls Inc. raised over $82,000, which will be used to support girl programming in greater Indianapolis.

Watch the official “Herstory Channel” documentary that premiered at the 2010 Touchstone Awards!

Herstory Channel Documentary

Missed the event? Check out our photo album from the celebration and learn more about the Girls Inc. annual Touchstone Awards!